HCT Survivorship Special Interest Group


Steering Committee

Shahrukh Hashmi, MD, co-chair hashmi.shahrukh@mayo.edu
Linda Burns, MD, co-chair lburns2@nmdp.org 

Areej Al-Jawahri, MD
Scott Baker, MD, MS
Lauren Brister, MSN, NP-C, AOCNP
Christy Duncan, MD
Adetola Kassim, MD, MS
Stephanie Lee, MD, MPH
Robert Lisac
Debra Lynch Kelly, PhD, RN, OCN
Karen Syrjala, PhD

ASBMT Staff Liaison: Maureen Knight

The Special Interest Group (SIG) for hematopoietic cell transplant (HCT) survivorship provides a national and international forum for the exchange of ideas, educational initiatives, research agenda setting, conducting collaborative research and dissemination on issues of importance surrounding survivorship in HCT. 

Membership in the Survivorship SIG is open to any ASBMT member.  Non-ASBMT members can join under special circumstances. Diverse representation is preferred, including, but not limited to: physicians, allied health professionals, researchers, social workers, nurses, administrators, governmental and private payer team members, patients, and patient advocates. If you would like to join the SIG, you must first be a member of the ASBMT.  If you are not, begin by completing this ASBMT membership application.  If you are already a member of ASBMT, send an email to ulyanafenyn@asbmt.org to join this SIG. 

Duties of Members

  1. Actively participate in SIG meetings (at least quarterly) via phone and annual in-person meeting at the ASBMT/CIBMTR BMT Tandem Meetings.
  2. Contribute to educational activities as requested by the Steering Committee (e.g., SIG-sponsored conference presentations/sessions, webinars).
  3. Support the development and implementation of a research agenda to define and measure value in HCT.
  4. Seek and provide peer and patient feedback on research questions, data sources, study proposals, and funding opportunities.
  5. Collaborate to conduct scientifically robust research to answer patient-centered research questions, particularly in comparative effectiveness research.

1.    Membership


  • Number of members.  Not less than three members and no more than 8 members.
  • Term of members. Two-year term.  May be re-appointed, with no term limits.
  • Overlap of terms. Terms of members will overlap.  Members will rotate off in a manner that allows continuity.
  • Term start/stop.  Terms will begin and end at the ASBMT annual meetings.
  • Composition. Steering Committee members must be members of the SIG, with at least one member representing the CIBMTR Health Services Research Program. Diverse representation is preferred: geographic, racial, gender based, areas of expertise, size and type of the transplant program. 
  • Nominations. Inaugural appointments to the Steering Committee will be made by the ASBMT President, in part based on recommendations from the Medical Director of the National Marrow Donor Program (NMDP) Health Services Research Program and the Scientific Director/Co-Chairs of the CIBMTR Working Committee on Late Effects and Quality of Life.  Subsequently, SIG members interested in serving as a leader will notify the Steering Committee, who will then forward a slate of proposed nominees through the Executive Director to the ASBMT President.

2.    Leadership

  • The leadership of the Steering Committee will be a Chair, Chair-Elect and CIBMTR HSR Program representative with term of 2 years; leaders may be reappointed. 

3.    Steering Member Responsibilities

  • Attend and actively participate in Steering Committee conference calls and other meetings at the request of the ASBMT Board of Directors.
  • Complete committee assignments, including annual report on activities for ASBMT Board of Directors and CIBMTR leadership.
  • Serve as resource for SIG members as well as members of other ASBMT SIGs.

Working Committees
Working Committees may be appointed by the Steering Committee to accomplish tasks and duties of the SIG.  Committees will be evaluated by the Steering Committee annually.