Committee on Cellular Therapy




Steering Committee

Helen Heslop, MD, Chair 
Marcel van den Brink, MD, PhD, Co-Chair
A. John Barrett, MD
Catherine Bollard, MD
Colleen Delaney, MD
Ardeshir Ghavamzadeh, MD
Saar Gill, MD, PhD
Jonathan A. Gutman, MD
Aisha N. Hasan, MD
Peiman Hematti, MD
Edwin Horwitz, MD
Saad Kenderian, MD
Marcela Maus, MD, PhD
Robert Negrin, MD
Marcelo C. Pasquini, MD, MS
Asha B. Pillai, MD
Jerome Ritz, MD
Elizabeth J. Shpall, MD
Jakub Tolar, MD, PhD

The Committee is charged with providing the ASBMT with a home for cellular therapy by: Providing representation on the Board; Adding more sessions such as tissue repair and regenerative medicine to the BMT Tandem Meetings; Soliciting topical articles for BBMT.

Current Goals

  • Develop joint programs in stem cell and T cell gene therapy with ASGCT
  • Establish and strengthen preferred relationships with other organizations in the field (e.g. AST, ISCT, NMDP, WMDA, WBMT, and ASGCT)
  • Sponsor ASBMT sessions at each organization’s meeting and invite speakers to the BMT Tandem Meetings
  • Require submission of articles on cellular therapy and transplantation biology to BBMT
  • Conduct cellular therapy sessions during the BMT Tandem Meetings

Ongoing Objectives

  • Interact with other societies and plan sessions at their annual meetings

  • Plan second ISCT/ASBMT cell therapy training course
  • Support FACT initiative to develop clinical standards for patients receiving CAR T cells
  • Conduct cellular therapy sessions during the BMT Tandem Meetings

Join the Committee

Membership in the Committee on Cellular Therapy is open to any ASBMT member. Please email with your request to join this Committe