New Investigator Awards

2016 New Investigator Awards

Applications for the 2016 New Investigator Awards are now closed. Applicants will be notified of the disposition of their application in December 2015.

ASBMT would like to thank the generous supporters of this year's 5 New Investigator Awards:

  • Millennium: The Takeda Oncology Company
  • Robert A. Good Award (Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc.)
  • Celgene
  • Jazz Pharmaceuticals
  • Amgen


The ASBMT New Investigator Awards are designed to encourage clinical or laboratory research by young investigators in the field of blood and marrow transplantation. The award, $30,000 per year for two years, preferably is to be used to support the investigator’s salary for his or her research effort. Alternatively, the award may be used for direct support of research costs.


  • To be eligible for consideration for a New Investigator Award, the applicant must be a physician (MD, DO, or international equivalent) or PhD (or international equivalent) who has completed > 2 years of postdoctoral training but is not beyond the 1st or 2nd year of a full-time, primary faculty appointment at an academic medical institution at the time of grant submission.
  • Grant applications from candidates with existing career development awards (such as K23, K08, LLS Fellow/Special Fellow, or any other type of career development award) will not be considered, nor will applications from candidates with independent, non-mentored peer-reviewed funding (such as R01, P01 or comparable). Institutional startup funds for junior faculty are not considered peer-reviewed or extramural.
  • Applicants may submit only one application per cycle. Applicants with other funding that overlaps an approved application’s scope of work must choose one or the other but may not keep both. This applies up to and through the duration of the funded project.
  • Applicants are encouraged, but not required, to be an ASBMT member. An applicant must have a sponsor who is an ASBMT member. The sponsor serves as a mentor for the applicant’s research and career development.


Applicants are required to submit this New Investigator Award application, a curriculum vitae that adheres to the NIH biographical sketch format, a list of Other Support that also adheres to the NIH format, a letter of recommendation from the sponsor/mentor (maximum two pages), and a description of the proposed research that must not exceed four pages.

Click here to download the application form.

Judging and Evaluation Criteria

The review committee is chaired by a member of the ASBMT, appointed by the ASBMT President with Board approval. The Chair then appoints review committee members ad hoc, after approval of the ASBMT President but based on the expertise required to review the topics covered by the applications.

New Investigator Award applications will be evaluated for (a) scientific merit within the field of blood and marrow transplantation, (b) significance and anticipated overall impact of the potential findings, (c) institutional environment, (d) the training record of the sponsor/mentor, and (e) the potential contribution of the proposed research to the field of blood and marrow transplantation. As these are “new” investigator awards, less emphasis is placed on preliminary data.

The number of award(s) that can be made varies from year to year, depending on available funding.

Unfortunately, due to the additional work that would be required of reviewers and the short time lines involved, applicants will not receive written critiques after review.


The award winner(s) will be notified around late November or early December, in time to make arrangements to attend the 2016 BMT Tandem Meetings, February 18 - 22 in Honolulu, Hawaii. The award(s) will be publicly announced at this meeting. The award will be activated July 1, 2016.


The award will be $30,000 for the first year, renewable for an additional $30,000 for a second year, contingent upon a report of satisfactory progress, which must be submitted to the ASBMT executive office no later than June 1, 2017.

Click here to download the application form.